Gordon Parks: Segregation Story In Mobile, 1956

When:

Sat, Jan 16 | 10:00 AM

Where:

Gordon Parks: Segregation Story In Mobile, 1956

4850 Museum Dr
Mobile, AL 36608

Additional Dates:

  • Tue, May 18 | 10:00am
  • Wed, May 19 | 10:00am
  • Thu, May 20 | 10:00am
  • Fri, May 21 | 10:00am
  • Sat, May 22 | 10:00am
  • Tue, May 25 | 10:00am
  • Wed, May 26 | 10:00am
  • Thu, May 27 | 10:00am
  • Fri, May 28 | 10:00am
  • Sat, May 29 | 10:00am

Details:

This exhibition of photographs documents the everyday activities and rituals of one extended black family, the Thorntons, in Mobile and Shady Grove, Alabama, during segregation. The images were originally published in a 1956 photo essay by Parks, an assignment from Life magazine after the Montgomery bus boycotts, but have come to be known around the world for helping to inspire the Civil Rights movement. These photographs are lent to MMofA by the Gordon Parks Foundation. Throughout the exhibition, MMofA is also partnering with area African American organizations on programs in various disciplines: film, poetry, visual arts and civil rights history.

MMoA Hours:

Tuesday – Saturday: 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Closed Sunday, Monday and all City Holidays*

*Also closed to the public for members-only events. Please check our calendar before planning your visit>>

General Info

Related Business:

Related Activity:

Spotlight On Our Local Museums

Gallery:

Follow Us on Instagram @allthingsmobileal, and use the hashtag #allthingsmobileal